Radio Salone

Travel Through Music

Post Top Ad

septiembre 24, 2020

Lura - Herança - 2015

Lura's new album, considered one of the best musical exponents in Cape Verde, is a vibrant, danceable and very Cape Verdean album, focused on the energizing musical genre of the archipelago. Herança (Patrimonio) (2015) perfectly follows the natural progression of Lura's discography after Di Korpuku Alma (2005), M'bem di fora (2006) and Eclipse (2009).

Herança is another golden opportunity to re-explore its rich culture and its people, its tradition and its music in the company of the most melodious and charismatic singers from a whole generation of artists from the African country. With songs composed by Lura herself, Mário Lúcio, Kaka Barbosa and Tcheka, the album includes the collaboration of three important guests: the Brazilian poet and musician Naná Vasconcelos ("Herança"), Richard Bona in "Barco di Papel" ( who wrote with Lura) and rising star Elida Almeida in "Nhu Santiagu."
Lura's voice and each of the songs on the album remind us how the essence of multiculturalism and traditional Creole music has given rise to a universal vocal genre, at the heart of Africa's best kept secret: Cape Verde.

01. Sabi di Más
02. Somada
03. Di Undi Kim Bem
04. MantenhaCudado
05. NhuSantiagu (con Elida Almeida)
06. Ness Tempo di NhaBidjissa
07. Ambienti Más Seletu
08. Herança (con Naná Vasconcelos)
09. Barco di Papel (con Richard Bona)
10. X da Questão
11. Sema Lopi
12. Maria di Lida
13. Goré
14. CidadeVelha

septiembre 10, 2020

Pierre Bensusan - Intuite - 2000

Intuite is the first fully solo and fully acoustic recording by Pierre Bensusan in a professional career that began in 1976 with his album Près de Paris. Although he never took formal guitar lessons, Bensusan is among the most respected guitarists in the world and has been dubbed the Claude Monet of the guitar. Apart from recordings, he has also produced various educational books and videos for guitarists. Born in Algeria in 1957, he moved with his family to Paris when he was four years old. It took its early influences from the folk revival of the 1960s, but the breadth of its influences goes far beyond that, with flavors running through jazz, classical, medieval, and world music, in particular, music. Celtic. All of these styles can be heard on Intuite, perhaps the most striking example is the track that gives the album its title. This is one of seven pieces dedicated to other musicians, in this case the Iraqi lute player Munir Bachir. Bensusan skillfully mimics the Arabic lute modality even though he currently sticks exclusively to the unusual DADGAD guitar tuning.
The piece dedicated to British guitarist John Renbourn "En Route From Scarborough," is cleverly borrowed from the classic melody "Scarborough Fair", although this and all the other compositions are his own. Another highlight is "La Hora Española", which effectively evokes an Iberian atmosphere without resorting to clichés. not using voices or other instruments, Intuite is a series of 11 narrative and abstract themes, ideal music to relax after a stressful day.

1. Kadourimbou
2. The Welsh Arrow
3. So Long Michael
4. Intuite
5. Bouree Voltige
6. Le Jardin d' Adonis
7. La Hora Española
8. L' Alchimiste
9. Agadiramadan
10. En Route From Scarborough
11. Silent Passenger 

septiembre 09, 2020

Andy Narell - Slow Motion - 1985

Andy Narell (New York, March 18, 1954) is an American ethnic jazz pianist, percussionist and composer, specializing in Trinidad and Tobago brass drums.

He moved to California as a teenager, after discovering the Steelpan in Queens. Her father, Murray Narell, was a social worker, and he invited Ellie Mannette to play the brass drums in New York, in an attempt to keep the kids off the streets, out of the bands, and into the steelbands.
Narell studied music at the University of California at Berkeley, and played piano at the "University of California Jazz Ensemble" under the direction of David W. Tucker. He graduated in 1973. In the 1980s, he worked on the "Bebop & Beyond" project, which recorded tribute albums to Dizzy Gillespie and Thelonious Monk.

Later he collaborated with the Caribbean Jazz Project, Montreux, Sakésho, and Béla Fleck and the Flecktones. He has composed and arranged music for the Trinidad national steel band competition, and toured South Africa in 1999, playing to an audience of 80,000.

Narell has taken the music of the steel drums to places never imagined by the pioneers of the 20th century in Trinidad and Tobago. The high point of Narell's music comes on two discs recorded in the early eighties, Light in Your Eyes and Slow Motion (his third and fourth albums). With guitarist Steve Erquiaga and percussionist Kenneth Nash, both longtime members of Narell's groups, things light up with rhythmic intensity, perfectly complementing the brilliant fusion of calypso and jazz.

Andy Narell (steel drums, keyboards)
John Thomas (vocals)
Steve Erquiaga (guitar)
Frank Martin (synthesizers)
Keith Jones (bass)
William Kennedy (drums)
Kenneth Nash (percussion, vocals)

A Sea Change by Andy Narell on Grooveshark

1. Two Tone Shoes
2. Natty Stick
3. Slow Motion
4. Street Dancin'
5. Another Drum For Oskar
6. Trapeze
7. Once A Dancer
8. A Sea Change
septiembre 05, 2020

Jazz Playground - 2010

Jazz Playground (2010), within the "Putumayo Kids" collection, is a new selection of international jazz aimed at both families and people who want to get into the subject. From bebop and swing, to Latin jazz, gypsy jazz, Brazilian bossa nova and African jazz, this multicultural album celebrates the vibrant global diversity of jazz, showing us how artists in South America, Europe, Asia, Africa and Oceania they have adopted jazz incorporating their own sounds.

As is customary in Putumayo, the libretto is presented with delightful illustrations for each theme by Nicola Heindl, with the introduction in English, Spanish, French and German.

Tracks list:
01. Lewis Franco &The Missing Cats - Stomp, Stomp (USA)
02. Chris McKhool - Spider-man (Canada)
03. Jose Conde - Cumbamba (USA/Cuba)
04. Triocéphale - Sur Le Pont d'Avignon (France)
05. Oran Etkin with Charenee Wade - Little Lamb Jam (Israel/USA)
06. Kinderjazz - Gazooba (Australia)
07. Barbara Morrison - Sing a Song of Sixpence (USA)
08. Trapperdetrap - Zuignapje (The Netherlands)
09. Selloane with Famoro Dioubaté - Shortnin' Bread (South Africa/Guinea)
10. The Mighty Buzzniks - Agree & Disagree (Australia)
11. Gui Tavares - Dois Meninos (Brazil)
12. Modern Conya - Oyatsu no Jikan (Japan)
13. Ingrid Lucia - This Little Light of Mine (USA)