Radio Salone

Travel Through Music

Post Top Ad

Afro Celt Sound System - The Source - 2016

Global sound with artists from Europe and Africa have been the food of the Afro Celt Sound System project, an Afro-Irish group formed by Simon Emmerson (guitarist and producer), N'Faly Kouyate (kora and balafon), Johnny Kalsi (percussion), Moussa Sissokho (percussion) and Griogair Labhruidh (flutes, vocals and guitars), being part of the group, also, James McNally (multi-instrumentalist), Iarla Ó Lionáird (voice), Emer Mayoc (bagpipes) and Martin Russell (keyboards and programming), true architect of its sound.
Although Simon Emmerson had formed the band in 1991, it was not until 1996 when they made themselves known at the Womad festival, where they had extraordinary success. From that date on, their level of quality and innovation rose to the same extent that they released their six studio albums, Sound Magic (1996), Release (1999), Further In Time (2001), Seed (2003), Anatomic (2005 ) and The Source (2016), which celebrates its 20th anniversary and has won them the Best Group award at the 2017 Songlines Music Awards.

In these works, in addition, they have enjoyed the collaborations of artists such as Robert Plant, Sinéad O'Connor, Davy Spillane, Liam O'Flynn and Peter Gabriel, among others. The latter, founder of the Womad festival and owner of the Real World label, label that has published the first five albums of the group. They have also participated in films such as "Hotel Rwanda", "Stigmata", "Gangs of New York" and "Nikita".

Afro Celt Sound System fuses dance and electronic music in general, with Celtic and African rhythms, synthesizing the ideology of Womad: mixing cultures, using contemporary technologies - they work with computers - and taking care of the visual aspect, especially dance. His repertoire includes sheet music from 600 years ago and current pieces such as jungle and house. This perfect mix of ancient and contemporary sounds, what they call global dance, has placed them in the undisputed vanguard of World Music.

Tracks list:

01. Calling in the Horses
02. Beware Soul Brother
03. The Magnificent Seven (ACSS meets TDF)
04. Cascade
05. A Higher Love (tune "Monkswell Road")
06. Honey Bee
07. Where Two Rivers Meet
08. Mansani Cissé/Tàladh
09. Child of Wonder
10. Desert Billy (tune "The Balcony")
11. The Communicator
12. The Soul of a Sister
13. Kalsi Breakbet

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario

Nota: solo los miembros de este blog pueden publicar comentarios.