Radio Salone

Travel Through Music

Post Top Ad

Novalima - Coba Coba - 2008

The music of Novalima is born from the primary influences of Afro-Peruvian rhythms and melodies with dub reggae, electronic and Latinbeats, creating a mixture of ancient tradition and modern trends that attracts both fans of world music and dance music, forging a point meeting between the past and the future.
Novalima is a musical collective that was born in 2001 from the production of four musicians living in different corners of the world: Ramón Pérez Prieto (Lima), Grimaldo Del Solar (Barcelona), Rafael Morales (London) and Carlos Li Carrillo (Hong Kong ), which take care of the sequences, keyboards, guitar and bass, respectively. Artists from the Afro-Peruvian scene such as Milagros Guerrero con la voz; Juan Medrano Cotito and Marcos Mosquera with cajon and voice, and Constantino Álvarez with timbales and cajon.

His second album Afro (2005) achieved excellent reviews from the specialized press and the European public, obtaining the IMA Award (Independent Music Awards) for Best Album in the World Fusion category. Additionally, twelve of their thirteen songs made it into the "Top Ten" of the World Music rankings in the United States and Canada in 2006.

Coba Coba, his third album, was released to the Peruvian market in October 2008, and worldwide by the Cumbancha label in January 2009, being nominated for the Latin Grammy as Best Alternative Album. Musically, the album covers a broader spectrum of styles than Afro, since in addition to Novalima's characteristic afro-dub sound, there is a lot of influence from styles such as reggae, salsa, son, reggaeton, afrofunk and hip hop, and the songs reflect more accurately the live sound of the band. The result: a rich musical repertoire, inherited from that which has existed for generations on the periphery of Peruvian popular culture.

01. Concheperla
02. Libertá
03. Se me van
04. Ruperta / Puede ser
05. Africa Landó
06. Coba Guarango
07. Camute
08. Mujer ajena
09. Tumbala
10. Kumaná
11. Bomba
12. Yo voy
13. Bolero

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario

Nota: solo los miembros de este blog pueden publicar comentarios.